Page 1 of 1

5.1.57.82

Posted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 6:07 pm
by DevRuss
  • Fixed bug that caused a crash when attempting to add any joystick that was not the first joystick listed.
  • Updated tutorials 4, 6, 9 and 15 to reflect recent changes.

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 10:33 am
by VelEshti
Morning,

I just downloaded this release and either my backups of my previous profiles were bad to start off with or this install corrupted them. My profiles are a right mess just like they were with the last release I installed. The profile were a wreck the last install too. So requesting an investigation on whether the profile backups aren't being created properly or if the installer is somehow messing with them.

I went back and opened my 5.0 release of CMJ thinking to make a fresh set up backups from it's profiles. However they had been written over so I couldn't do a fresh backup to run tests and get ideas for you. Sorry.

Secondly, where is the curve editor now? I have not been able to find it. The tutorial profile still says to go to the 3DxWare tab which is obsolete as there is no 3DxWare tab with this release. Thanks.

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:05 pm
by DevRuss
Hi,

Many thanks for your bug reports, and sorry about any profile backup issues you may have encountered.

Pre 5.0, profiles were exported as .cmj files and if you go to the Backup in 5.0 or 5.1 window, it should list where you can find them. These .cmj's can then be imported into 5.0/5.1 and they are converted to .cmjson files. The original .cmj files are not altered or deleted during this process. If you can find some of those .cmj files, please send them to me and I will take a look. I haven't run across any import or backup issues, but I will investigate further.

The curve editor is launched by double-clicking on the axis grid in the Input/DxWare or Input/HID tabs.
cmj1.jpg
Cheers,

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:15 pm
by DevRuss
>>I went back and opened my 5.0 release of CMJ

Not sure if this means that 5.0 and 5.1 are both installed, but they should not be as their profiles and especially their drivers will not be fully compatible. If you are seeing duplicate tutorial profiles, this may be the cause.

Also, you will find 5.0 and 5.1 auto-backups in
C:\Users\Public\Documents\ControlMyJoystick\Profiles\Backup

The oldest files in there are likely your 5.0 profiles, so copy this entire folder somewhere for safe keeping. 5.0 profiles use the .cmjson data format version = 1, while 5.1 uses 2.

{
"profile": {
"version": "1",

If you find any version=1's, you can copy these files into the main C:\Users\Public\Documents\ControlMyJoystick\Profiles folder and when the profile is selected in ControlMyJoystick, it will automatically be upgraded to version 2.

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:13 pm
by VelEshti
Hello and thanks for the reply.

I was never able to get 5.1 to work as much as I tried fresh installs and checking the profiles to be sure they had the right extension. The latest attempt now says error when trying to import profiles and the same thing happens that if 5.1 even tries to open a file, it renders it unusable by 5.0. So I learned quickly to save multiple back ups elsewhere to keep 5.0 working.

Also can't get 5.1. to communicate with Elite Dangerous so couldn't build a profile from scratch. Target is set and enable slider is on and green. Just writing to let you know in case anyone else encounters a similar problem. I'll keep using 5.0. and will try again with future release :)

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 1:50 pm
by VelEshti
Also, to answer your other question, no. I always remove one version of CMJ before installing the other to prevent any conflict. The profile folders remain though :)

Think I sorted something just now. Noticed that my 5.0. is saving profiles as cmjson. When did that happen? Instead of using the importer which wants to convert and is throwing errors, I put a copy directly into the 5.1 profile folder. Uninstalled one and installed the other and the profile shows up. Got the target and target enable working by restarting the game a few times. It finally clicked.

I'm apparently running now. Disregard or outright delete my previous post this morning. Thanks for the assist.

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:44 pm
by DevRuss
It is good to hear that you got it working ok.

CMJ switched to .cmjson starting with version 5.0, and this has been a good thing in terms of maintainability code-wise, but the instructions for how to deal with the change from .cmj to .cmjson and when to import/export has always been lacking in clarity. I'll tweak the instructions to give a better indication on how to upgrade the profiles, and probably also tweak the importer to not try to import a .cmjson, which it should not allow.

I appreciate your efforts in staying with it and finding a solution. Your feedback will help make CMJ a better app.

Cheers,

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:52 pm
by DevRuss
I forgot to mention that I posted my Elite:Dangerous profile that I used recently in the Games forum here:

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=18

I'll keep on posting updates there from time to time as I add more E:D functions. You can download the .cmjson file in the post and give it a try for some macro/script ideas that use the new functionality of 5.1.

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Wed May 29, 2019 2:35 pm
by VelEshti
Thanks :) I've been using the latest version for a few weeks now and my profile is working fine with one exception. That being the script and binding I set up for the Discovery Scanner. I've had this bound to the 3DConnection for the previous 3 versions I've used and loved being able to drop in system, thumb press a button and have DS run itself while I focus on high speed scooping.

In this version it does work, but if I've used my mouse for anything else, it requires multiple button presses to get it working again. It's more an annoyance than a complaint, I just throw it out there if you have any ideas for next time. I'll have a look at your profile and see if you have a solution to this already and I only need to adjust my script. For now mine has been set up something like this:

3DConnexion button trigger..

mouse button down
pause 5000
mouse button up

For now, thank you for the hard work. I really enjoy flying with a 3D mouse :)

Re: 5.1.57.82

Posted: Sat Jun 01, 2019 6:43 pm
by DevRuss
>>mouse button down
>>pause 5000
>>mouse button up

If you physically press the same mouse button, or run another script that changes that button while this script is running, it will definitely give problems. When using the discovery scanner after entering the system, I use the same thing triggered off a controller button, but I make sure to not use that mouse button during the scan. If you use a script to press the mouse button, then physically go mouse button down/up, the driver and OS sees the button as up, even though CMJ hasn't sent an UP command yet.

Also, be make sure to name the macro like

Scan System [!]

with the [!] at the end to make sure this macro can only run once, so if you repeatedly trigger the macro, you don't get multiple instances of the same macro running at the same time. This is super-important when you have key/button state script commands, and especially in spampanic situations, like getting interdicted.

The knowledge base is out of date on this, and I'll be updating it soon.